Quick, Simple 20 Min Flapjacks

 

 

 

When I woke up this morning I was          thinking about possible items to bake  for a fair stall I am thinking of doing in  the near future, and flapjacks came to  mind as something easy, cheap but  delicious and so I made these this  morning. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

INGREDIENTS 

80 g Brown Sugar

40g Unsalted Butter

60g Margarine

250g Oats

Pinch of Salt

1 Medium Banana, mashed

3 Tbsp Golden Syrup

 

 

1. Melt the Butter and Margarine 

2. Add Sugar and Syrup and keep on heat until mixture is liquid (not long a minute or two), make sure you keep the heat low enough not to burn the butter

3. Add the oats and a pinch of salt, mix to combine

4. Mix the mashed banana into the oats making sure that its well combined

5. Add the mixture to a foil lined pan and bake for 15 minutes until the edges turn a darker brown.

I washed up whilst they were in the oven but got a nice burn on my arm when I took them out.

 

Whilst these were very nice I wasn’t the biggest fan of the added banana but then i do prefer a really simple flapjack. I want to play around with this recipe. Ill be making it with just butter mixing  less to create a more crumbly texture. I might also melt the butter separately in the microwave and add this to a slightly caramelised sugar mixture to get more flavour. I would also experiment with different sugars and different oats

 

 

Leave a Reply

