Dorie Greenspan’s Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

 

As part of my marathon baking weekend I tried out a new cookie recipe. I turned to the stand by of Dorie Greenspan’s mamouth book “Baking – From my Home to Yours”. I wanted a relatively simple choc chip cookie and so I chose Dorie’s “Best Chocolate Chip Cookie”. The recipe says it makes 45 but it made 60 for me. I only baked 30 of them and froze the shaped dough in the freezer so I can bake one when ever I fancy one.

 

  2 Cups All-Purpose Flour

  1 Tsp Salt

  3/4 Tsp Baking Soda

  225g Unsalted Butter

                             1 Cup Sugar                                                       

2/3 Cup Light Brown Sugar

 2 Tsp Vanilla Extract

                                                                                                                                                      2 Large Eggs                                                                                 

340g Bittersweet Chocolate chopped into chips

             1 Cup Finely Chopped Pecans

 

1. Preheat Oven to 190c or 375f and line 2 baking sheets with Silpats or Parchment 

2. Whisk the Flour Salt and Baking Soda together 

3. In a stand mixer on medium beat the butter for a minute till smooth. Add the sugars and beat for another 2 minutes until well blended. Beat in the Vanilla then the eggs one at a time, beating for one minute after each addition.

4. Reduce mixer to low and add the dry ingredients in 3 additions, mixing only till incorporated 

5. With a rubber spatula mix in the nuts and chocolate

 

 

6. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and chill in the refrigerator for at least 24 hours

 

I froze these so they too close together to bake

I froze these so they too close together to bake

 

 

7. Using a rounded tablespoon measure put balls of batter on baking sheets leaving plenty of space, and bake one sheet at a time for 10-12 mins until the edges brown but the centre is just golden. Allow to cool on the sheet a minute or so then move to a cooling rack.

3 responses to “Dorie Greenspan’s Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. The look perferct! And what beautiful pictures.

  2. Thanks do much Dorie, I was really happy with these, unfortunately all the ones I had have gone now (they were sold at my office for charity) but i have a couple i the freezer and im going to make an ice cream sandwich tonight. Also just wanted to say that i love your books, always so reliable, do you have anything in the works for release

  3. You’re really inspiring me to do some baking!

Leave a Reply

