My Grandmother’s Gingerbread Cake

This is a recipe that has been in my family for at least 50 years, yet I have never made, nor even tasted, the cake. The reason for this is because it was my Nana’s recipe and she passed away when I was just three. My Mum is an excellent cook but she says she has never been able to get it quite right. As it was Mothers day in the UK this past weekend I thought it would be nice to make as a treat for my Mum. This is a nice moist cake with a great ginger taste and its actually very easy to make. This was made last minute so there were a couple of extras I didnt have for the original recipe but it was still great without them.

Ingredients

170g Plain Flour

170g Wholemeal Flour

3 Generous Tsp Ground Ginger

1 Tsp Mixed Spice

1 Tsp Cinnamon

1 Tsp Bicarbonate Soda

Pinch of Salt

Pinch Cayenne Pepper (I didnt have any)

170g Butter

113g Caster Sugar

2 Generous Tablespoons Orange Marmalade

340g Golden Syrup

(plus an extra spoonful and some chopped stem ginger if you have it)

2 Eggs

1 1/2 Gills Milk (210 ml Milk)

1. Put all the dry ingredients in a bowl and mix well with a whisk.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/woodwood/3376788862/

2. Melt the Sugar, Syrup, Marmalade, and Stem Ginger

3. In a separate bowl beat the eggs  and add the milk

4. Once melted add the syrup mixture to the dry and mix well, then slowly add the milk and eggs. The mixture will be very thin but thats fine.

5. Bake at 150c in and 8 inch square pan for 1hr until a toothpick comes out the middle clean.

We found the taste and texture of this cake only gets better over the days after its baked.

5 responses to “My Grandmother’s Gingerbread Cake

  1. how sweet. so did your mom think the can’t was just like her mom’s?

    • She thought the flavor could have been a bit stronger, but then I had no cayenne or stem ginger but it was pretty close apparently

  2. good to know! and what a typo…cake, not can’t. oops 🙂

  3. Thanks for pointing me to the recipe, Edd. Looks delicious – I love the addition of marmalade!

  4. where can I find the recipe for the chocolate tartlets on the winners programmes of ‘The great British Bake’

Leave a Reply

