Baking Diversion – Gai Pad Grappow

 

Recipe from Seriouseats.com

 

I know this is supposed to be a baking blog but man cant live on baked goods alone, no matter how hard I try! After seeing this dish in numerous places online I decided to give it a go. Gai Pad Grappow is basically minced chicken with green beans chili garlic and fish sauce. Its a very simple dish to make but there are few things you will need to juggle in order to serve everything warm, especially if serving with the egg.

 

Ingredients 

2 Tablespoons Vegetable Oil

Chilies Finely Chopped (2-3 Serrano for a mild kick or 2-3 Birds Eye for some serious heat)

1 Large Shallot Diced

3 Cloves Garlic Minced

150g Green Beans, trimmed + chopped into 1 1/4 inch pieces 

225g Minced Chicken (I used Turkey)

2 Tablespoons Fish Sauce

2 Teaspoons Sugar

1 Bunch Basil, Leaves only

To Serve

Boiled Rice

Fried Rice, Optional

 

 

1. Heat the oil over high in a wok or large frying pan. When you can see waves forming in the hot oil, add chilis, shallots, and garlic and stir-fry until golden, around 30 seconds.

2. Add the Green Beans and cook 3-4 minutes until cooked but still crunchy.

3. Add the Chicken and using a wooden spatula break it up into little pieces and cook through

4. Add the fish sauce and sugar and stir to distribute. Taste and adjust seasoning if needed.

5. Reduce the heat to medium and add the Basil and cook till wilted to almost nothing, remove from the heat. 

6. Serve with Boiled Rice and a Fried Egg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 responses to “Baking Diversion – Gai Pad Grappow

  1. Just wanted to say that I bumped into your blog several times, and I just adore it! You have such a beautiful blog, and your photos are just lovely!
    Your blog is one of those blogs that you really don`t want to see while on a diet 🙂

    Oh, this minced chicken recipe looks delicious, looks like a recipe that I will try pretty soon. Thanks!

    • Thanks so much. I know what you mean dieters should avoid most baking blogs. (key is moderation, ive always struggled with weight)

  2. Hi Edd!

    Its me Jallen Dragonhide from Flickr.. I’ve bookmarked this.. I got a question however..

    “minced turkey”

    Is that similar to what Americans call “Ground Turkey” that we’d shape into hamburger patties?

    I like this sort of cooking, and am def going to give this a try soon!

    • Hi, yeah ground turkey is the same stuff, this was really a really great dish and you comment has reminded me of it again, I will have to make it again myself soon

  3. Aha Thanks for the confirmation! The picture you posted looked similar but I wanted to be sure.

Leave a Reply

