Homemade Oreo’s

 

 

Every now and again I turn to Marthastewart.com to watch a couple of videos from past shows and on my last visit I found these. Im a big fan of Oreo’s and seeing a recipe for them I jumped at trying it, and you know what they tasted pretty close. Even though they are not spot on they still taste great. Two weeks from tomorrow I will be setting of on my trip to NYC and you know what, I cant wait, and these american cookies are just a teaser of things to come (for me at least). I plan on doing a post (or three) of round ups so watch out for them.

 

Ingredients

1 1/4 Cup Plain (AP) Flour 

3/4 Cup Dutch Process Cocoa Powder

1/2 Teaspoon Baking Soda

1/4 Teaspoon Salt

5 Tablespoon Unsalted Butter, Melted and Cooled

2/3 Cup Light Brown Sugar

1 Large Egg

 

Cream Filling

4 Tablespoons Unsalted Butter

1 1/2 Cup Confectioners Sugar

1/4 Cup Granulated Sugar

2 Teaspoons Vanilla Extract

 

 

Cookies

1. In a medium bowl whisk the Flour, Cocoa, Salt and Baking Powder together.

2. In a Large bowl mix the sugar, butter and egg. Add the Flour mixture and mix until a dough forms. You may need to get you hands in for this stage as the dough is quite dry

3. Divide the dough in half and roll each piece between parchment to a 1/4 inch thickness. Stack on a baking sheet and refrigerate until firm around 30 minutes, preheat the oven to 350f/170c.

4. Using a 2 inch cookie cutter cut the dough into rounds and place on a parchment lined baking sheet an inch apart. Bake until firm and fragrant, around 8-10 minutes, rotating the sheets halfway through baking. Remove and let cool on wire racks.

 

 

Filling

1. In the bowl on an electric mixer beat the butter until light and fluffy. Slowly add the sugars beating until combined. Beat in the Vanilla. (I made a pretty stupid mistake here. When adding the vanilla I read the recipe wrong and added 2 Tablespoons of vanilla so it was a little strong in the vanilla taste!!)

 

 

 

 

10 responses to “Homemade Oreo’s

  1. Did you set the oven @350?

  2. Those look just about perfect! Made something similar a while back and really liked them. Was the dough fussy or did it cooperate?

  3. about how many cookies did this make?

  4. about how many cookies did this make??

    • Martha’s recipe says 14 but I got 20 out it, just re-rolled the left over dough. The filling recipe is plenty, i had quite a bit left over

  5. wow these look amazing…I’m english so have heard of Oreo’s nut never had them – think I’ll have a go at making these as they look delish 🙂

  6. Hi Edd! This is my second time making your recipe and this time I posted it on my blog. (Excuse the pink filling, it was used for another dessert project as well). Mine are nowhere as neat as yours b/c sadly I’m just not as patient with my baking. But I love love your recipe.

Leave a Reply

