Awesome Oatmeal and Raisin Cookies

 

 

One of my all time favourite blogs is a constant source of inspiration and whenever I fancy baking something I search there first to see what Deb, the author, has tried. So far i’ve only had one dud recipe from SmittenKitchen.com and this is very possible just because of my aversion to oil based cakes. Everything else i’ve tried has been very good but I think this is my favourite so far. Like Deb when I think of great Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I have quite specific tastes. They need to thick and chewy but I don’t want any crunch. These were so good im very glad I only baked a few because I would of eaten them all. I froze the rest once shaped so next time I get a craving I’ll know where to head. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ingredients 

1/2 Cup (57g) Butter, softened
2/3 Cup Light Brown Sugar, packed
1 Egg
1/2 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
3/4 Cup Plain (AP) Flour
1/2 Teaspoon Baking Soda
1/2 Teaspoon Ground Cinnamon
1/4 Teaspoon Salt
1 1/2 Cups Rolled Oats
3/4 Cup Raisins

 

1. Preheat Oven to 350f/170c 

2. In an Electric Mixer cream together the Butter, Brown Sugar, Egg and Vanilla until Smooth

3. In another bowl whisk the Flour, Salt, Cinnamon and Baking Soda. Stir this into the Butter mixture. Stir in the Oats and Raisins.

4. Line a baking sheet with parchment and scoop balls of dough about 1 1/2 tablespoons and roll into shape. Cover with cling film and refrigerate till firm, or like me once firm freeze those your not baking that day. 

 

 

5. The cookies should be about 2 inches apart, Bake for 10-12 minutes or until colored around the outside but still pale on top. Leave on tray for 5 minutes and then place on a wire rack until cooled 

One response to “Awesome Oatmeal and Raisin Cookies

  1. Edd, these look really nice! Is there a way you could do an apple and cinnamon alternative?

Leave a Reply

