Candy Making Failure

I was hoping to make some Honeycomb candy, I had read it was easy and I loved it as a kid so I though why not. I found a very simple recipe on Waitrose.com but it was far from successful. I was also testing a new camera (Canon Ixus 100 / Powershot SD780) which probably didnt help. Thinking about it now my problem was that putting the pan into a water bath to stop the candy made it harden faster than I could work with and so i had to mix the mixture more to incorporate the baking soda which reduced the size of the bubbles and so my honeycomb was flat and not as it should be. 

 

If your interested about the recipe its – 

300g Caster Sugar

200g Golden Syrup

150 ml Water

2 Tblsp Cider / White Wine Vinegar

2 Heaped Tsp Baking Soda

 

1. In a large pan add the sugar, syrup, vinegar and water and on place over low heat until the sugar is dissolved.

2. Turn up the heat to medium high and heat until mixtures reaches 120 c.

3. Take off the heat and sprinkle in the Baking soda and give a quick mix to incorporate.

4. once settled very slightly pour into a parchment lined 20cm square shallow pan

(this is my slightly altered recipe which I hope will make the process easier and leave you with proper honeycomb not what I made)

5 responses to “Candy Making Failure

  1. Great video – who is singing in the video? Working with sugar is rough business….Good luck with the next batch.

  2. Sounds yummy! Sorry to hear it didn’t work out though. I might give it a shot…

Leave a Reply

