Ice Cream and a Book

Its funny but as I get older I seem to find more links from family in the past that involve food. I always knew my Uncles were Butchers (of sorts they sold mostly cooked meats) and that my Grandfather ran market stalls across lancashire selling meats as well as biscuits during the war, which were a luxury due to rationing. Recently though I found out my Great Grandfather was an ice cream man. I found this out after making my first ever batch of ice cream this past weekend. I had been waiting for my ice cream maker to arrive for what seemed like ages and when it did finally arrive last friday it went straight in the freezer and as soon as I could I whipped up a batch of Butterscotch Pecan from the amazing book by David Lebovitz – “The Perfect Scoop” which David had suggested in an interview on Amateurgourmet.com.

 

Im already planning my next flavour, I may even  make it this weekend. Coincidently I have also just finished reading “My Sweet Life in Paris” also by David Lebovitz. For some reason ever since I was little I have always felt drawn to New York City and Paris. Im not sure why but my guess is that it was a form of escapism as they both seemed so far away and different. Paris is such a wonderful place and when you get a pastry chef writing about the city along with some wonderful sounding recipes well im sold. If you like the idea of reading about paris with a nice slant towards food then this book is for you. 

 

Butterscotch Pecan Ice Cream

 

5 Tblsp (70g) Butter, Unsalted or Salted (I went with unsalted)

1/4 Cup (170g) Packed Dark Brown Sugar 

1/2 Tsp Coarse Salt

2 Cups (500 ml) Heavy Cream (In the UK this is equivalent to whipping cream as double cream has a higher fat content)

3/4 Cup (180 ml) Whole Milk 

6 Large Egg Yolks (I Have frozen the whites for a later use)

1/2 Tsp Vanilla Extract

1 Tblsp Scotch Whisky 

Buttered Pecans (recipe below) coarsely chopped 

 

 

1. Melt the butter in a medium saucepan then add the sugar and salt and mix until well moistened. Whisk in the 1 cup of the cream and milk

2. Warm the sugar and cream mixture and pour the remaining cream into a large bowl with a mesh strainer set on top.

3. In a separate bowl whisk together the yolks, then slowly pour the cream mixture into the eggs whisking all the time to temper the yolks but avoid scrambing them. Scape this mixture back into the saucepan.

4. Stir this mixture constantly over medium heat with a heatproof spatula stirring until the mixture thickens and coats the back of the spatula.

5. Pour the custard through the strainer into the cream and stir in the vanilla and scotch then stir until cool in an ice bath. Chill this mixture thoroughly and then freeze in your ice cream make according to its instructions. Add the pecans during the last few minutes. 

 

Butter Pecans

 

1 1/2 Tblsp Butter

1 1/2 Cup Pecans

1/4 Tsp Coarse Salt

 

1. Pre-heat the oven to 350F (175C) Melt the butter and then toss the pecans in this with the salt to coat. Spread evenly on a baking sheet and toast for 10 minutes giving one stir during baking.

This was a wonderful ice cream to start with. My parents were the main tasters and they loved it. This is a good sign as they are always honest with their reviews. Next up im thinking Fresh Ginger with Caramelised White Chocolate or maybe Salted Caramel. If you want a great book on ice cream I would strongly suggest David’s book, it has a great chapter on making the custard and has such a wonderful selection of flavours. If you also want a fun humorous read on paris then his book “My Sweet Life in Paris” is also a great read. 

Leave a Reply

