Crystalized Ginger

I’ve been on a bit of a ginger bender recently what with ginger ale, ice cream as well in some savory dishes too. This has led to an excess of ginger and so I decided to try crystalized ginger which I have always loved – in cookies, on ice cream but especially just to eat straight. I wasnt really working from an in depth recipe it was actually just from a clip of an Alton Brown show and it seemed simple enough, you boil the ginger for 35 minutes, then drain the slices, retaining some of the water and mix this with the ginger and sugar and cook on high till this mixture boils and then reduce the heat to medium and cook stirring frequently until the sugar looks dry and starts to crystalises, which should take 2o minutes. Sounds straight forward right? Well I guess I did something wrong because I ended up with this

Yeah…not so good, one big caramelly sticky mess! To be honest I was a bit crestfallen because I hadnt made many mistakes in the kitchen recently and was really hoping for this to turn out too. Thankfully I had another go at it trying a slightly different method which seemed less likely to fail and this time it was a big old success.

 

500g Fresh Ginger, Peeled

800g Sugar, plus extra for coating the candied slices

1 Liter Water

Pinch Salt

 

1. Slice the Ginger as thinly as possible (if its too thick the ginger wont candy properly and the sugar coating wont stay crystalised) 

2. Put the slices in a medium pan and cover with water and bring to the boil. Reduce the heat and simmer for 10 minutes. Drain and repeat. 

3. Mix the water and sugar in the pot with a pinch of salt and the ginger and cook until the temperature reaches 106C/225F (will be the consistency of runny honey. 

4. Remove from the heat and drain well and then coat in the sugar and then shake of the excess and let sit on a baking rack overnight

3 responses to “Crystalized Ginger

  1. I love ginger. I was going to try ginger beer next weekend, but this might take priority, it looks fantastic!

    Great blog!

    • Thanks so much, I actually fancy the ginger ale again I made it a couple of weeks ago and it was soo good.

  2. Pingback: chowmama | Crystalized (or Candied) Ginger—A Perfect On-the-Go Healthy Summer Snack

Leave a Reply

