From Supermodel to Baker


Lorraine Pascale was one of the biggest supermodels in the 1990’s, she was the face of campaigns for Versace, Donna Karren amongst others and was the first British Black model to grace the cover of American Elle magazine. Taking a great change of direction Lorraine followed her passion and enrolled on Leith’s Diploma of Food and Wine and then followed this with a degree in International Culinary Arts in Pastry (as an aside, this is a dream of mine, the culinary degree not the cover of Elle!). Today she opened her own place in Covent Garden called Ellas Bakehouse (named after her daughter).

I’m sure many of you are aware that a lot of food bloggers are on twitter (you can see my tweets on the top right) as are a lot of Chefs, Proprietors and Vendors. I added @lorrainepascale as I thought it would be interesting to follow her as she opened up Ellas Bakehouse in Covent Garden, London. In the run-up to the opening Lorraine ran treasure hunts where the prize was free cupcakes. As these were based in London I wasn’t able to take part but then she sent out a tweet asking for flavour suggestions. The winner would have their flavour made and sold on the opening day. I sent out a response suggesting Ginger cake with a caramelised white chocolate frosting. Turns out I won and I would also be in London for opening day, so of course I went along and bought my cupcake. The store has a cute retro vibe to it, lots of pink, a really great shop. The cupcakes cost £2 and are a really good size for the price, a nice chunk of cake for the cash. 

I purchased 3 cupcakes, 2 of the ginger and also a peanut butter. My favourite was absolutely the peanut butter, it was excellent. The frosting was strongly flavoured along with a dollop of peanut butter in the middle with a sprinkling of peanuts. The cake was also very good, soft and moist but it also had peanuts dotted through the batter that was a great addition. 

The ginger one that I had suggested was also good but it wasn’t my favourite. I really like my ginger strong and in your face and this is a more delicately flavoured cake. The frosting was cream cheese with a piece of candied ginger on top. My brother said it was “goooorgeous” he loved the flavouring of the cake and the frosting and has given it his seal of approval saying it was the best cupcake he has had in London (having tried hummingbird, Primrose and Buttercup).

The location is perfect and I loved the PB one so I will most definitely be back to try the other flavours when im next down visiting my brother. I wanted to say hello and congratulate Lorraine but she seemed busy and I didn’t want to be rude but I hope the Bakehouse is a great success.

6 responses to “From Supermodel to Baker

  1. Oh, how great that you won! I love the sound of “your” flavour, though I would probably agree with you on the peanut butter one- LOVE pb.

    I may have to check this out- I normally hate gourmet cupcake shops as the cakes are almost always too dry, and the icing too sweet. Also, I think the trend itself is getting a bit tired. I do love to eat cupcakes, though!

  2. I know what you mean but food trends dont tend to get this far north and there is no cupcake shops here so its still a novelty I guess

  3. Congratulations on the win! I totally agree about the ginger flavour, I love mine really hot rather than just a hint in the background. I must get round to trying your recipe for crystilised ginger, I think it would make a great Christmas presents for people. That said, it might never make it out of the flat!

  4. I want to do a diploma in patisserie too… sadly I don’t have a supermodel salary with which to pay the tuition fees!

    The cupcake trend is getting a bit tired, especially as there are so many bad examples about. However, if these ones are better than Hummingbird I will have to check out Ella’s next time I’m in London!

    • I cant vouch for the taste versus hummingbird as never eaten there but my brother thought they were a lot better

  5. I went here on Saturday but the queue was so long that I took one look and left again! I hate to wait for food 😦

    She’s obviously doing a roaring business, though.

Leave a Reply

