Recipe Replication

Up until very recently I had never heard of the Uyghur ethnic group who live mainly in Eastern and Central Asia but recently have come across them twice and most importantly, to me at least, one of them involves food (of course). When I was in NYC, back in May I met up with Robyn and we went to Brighton beach where we ate at Café Kashkar and I had my first Uyghur Food. There was much food eaten and it was really great, lots and lots of lamb, full of spices but especially cumin and since I love cumin I was very happy. One of the dishes we had, Geiro Lagman, looked like I could possibly make it, if only I could find a recipe.Unfortunately I couldn’t find one that looked like it would recreate the flavour I remembered. What I did find was a spice mix. I used the spices as the base of the dish and well it wasn’t perfect but I think with a couple more tries I could get pretty close. So here is my attempt at making Geiro Lagman without a recipe

1 tablespoon ground cumin (might increase a bit next time)

1/2 tablespoon chili flakes (might reduce a bit)

1/2 tablespoon freshly ground black pepper


1/2 teaspoon chilli powder



1 teaspoons ground ginger powder
(might increase)

1 teaspoons sea salt

 

1 Large carrot finely diced

1 Red Pepper finely diced

1 Onion finely diced

2 Cloves Garlic Finely Chopped

Enough diced Lamb for 2 people (I used about 275g of diced leg)

2-3 tblsp oil

250ml water

1 tsp tomato paste

 

Heat oil in a saucepan and gently fry the onion and garlic until golden brown.

Add lamb and cook for 10 minutes or so then add the spice mix and cook for five minutes

Add the vegetables, tomato paste and water cook for 40-45 mins or until tender

Serve with thick noodles

It’s a really simple meal to make but next time I make it I would definitely amend a couple things. Firstly my carrots were not finely enough diced so were a bit chunkier than I would have wanted. The spice blend was definitely off a bit. I would increase the cumin quite a bit, reduce the chilli a little, add some szechuan peppercorns (which were in the original spice mix list but I couldn’t get hold off) add a little soy sauce, maybe miss out the tomato paste and reduce the water a little. As it was it was still a very tasty meal.

Leave a Reply

