Doughnuts

I was going to post about a seriously decadant chocolate sorbet recipe today but I had a big craving for fresh doughnuts and whilst I cant satisfy that craving right now I can relive the experience vicariously through a post on the doughnuts I made a little while back, but forgot to post about. Doughnuts are another of those things I never thought about making as I assumed they would be difficult to make and disappointing in the result. Craving something can make me try some pretty odd or supposedly difficult things though. So when I realised  I actually had everything in the house I needed I of course had no choice but to get straight in the kitchen. The recipe I ended up using came from a Betty Crocker book which was posted about on Erin Cooks. These were way too good, so fluffy and light with no greasiness like your get with some doughnuts. I just dusted these with cinnamon sugar but you could play around a lot and create all sorts of great flavours. 

Yeast Doughnuts

Adapted from Betty Crocker’s Old Fashioned Cookbook

Makes approximately 4 dozen

 

5 Cups All Purpose Flour

½ Cup Sugar

1 Tsp Salt

2 Packages Active Dry Yeast

1 ¾ Cups Very Warm Milk (120F to 130F)

1/3 Cup Shortening

2 Eggs

Vegetable Oil (For Frying)

Sugar and Cinnamon

1. Mix 2 Cups of the flour, ½ Cup Sugar, Salt and Yeast your mixer. Add the Milk, Shortening and Eggs. Beat on low speed for a minute, give the bowl a scrape then beat on medium for another minute. Scrape the bowl again and add the remaining flour and beat until smooth. Cover and let rise in a warm place for 50-60 minutes or until doubled. (my dough shot up and after an hour had almost expanded out of the bowl and looked much wetter than in should and much stringier)

2. Generously flour you work surface and turn the dough out and coat with flour (if like me your dough seems too wet, work in more flour until it is no longer tacky). Roll the dough out to about ½ inch thickness. Cut with a floured pastry cutter or if you have it a doughnut cutter (if using pastry cutters use a smaller one to remove the hole if your doing rings). You can gently knead the scraps back together and cut again. Cover the doughnuts and let rise for 30-40 mins until puffed up and roughly doubled in size.

3. Heat about 1 ½ to 2 inches of oil in a saucepan or dutch oven to 350F. Using a spatula add the doughnuts into the oil and fry on each side until golden brown, about a minute. To turn the doughnuts over I used chopsticks. Remove carefully and drain on paper towels before rolling in a mixture of cinnamon and sugar.

I want to experiment a bit next time and want to try a coconut glaze with a coconut pastry cream filling too (in homage to the Doughnut Plant in NYC). 

Look how Fluffy

6 responses to “Doughnuts

  1. Oh my. These look like my ideal doughnut. Absolutely delicious!

  2. Oh, wow. Your doughnuts look fantastic. I want one. Or five…

  3. Wow, now I want a doughnut. I’ve never tried proper fried ones yet as the deep-frying thing scares me. I have a nice recipe for baked ones, but it’s just not the same! Those look so delicious.

  4. Clicked over from the Amateur Gourmet site 🙂
    What gorgeous doughnuts! It’s not the kneading and rising side of things that puts me off, it’s the deep frying. But you’re right, it’s amazing the lengths you can go to satisfy a food craving. Now I’m craving doughnuts…

  5. Phoo-D Thanks they were great
    Sam@BingeNYC Thanks I probably ate too many myself
    Rebbeca + Laura I know what you mean this was the first time ive ever deep fried anything. The good thing with this though is you dont use too much oil so I didnt find it too daunting (but the low amount of oil makes temperature control a little tricky)

  6. Oh my goodness, well done! I always mean to try doughnuts and then chicken out. Yours look picture perfect.

Leave a Reply

