Pork and Chive Dumplings

On a whim I decided to make chinese dumplings/potstickers. Its something I had being craving for a while and as with most things I crave I ended up in the kitchen attempting to make them. The great thing about these is that once you have made the filling you can relax in front of the TV or pop on some music and get to forming the dumplings. I stuck to the traditional pork and chinese chive filling but to be honest I wasnt 100% happy with the taste. The pork flavour was a bit funky and a little linear even though there is garlic chives, sesame oil, soy sauce, and garlic. If I was to make these again i’d add some ginger and maybe a little chilli to give a bit of heat and spice.

Makes 30 Dumplings

500g Pork Mince

1 Bunch Garlic Chives

3 Garlic Cloves

1 Tblsp Cornflour

Soy sauce + Sesame Oil

2 Tblsp Rice Wine

Salt and Pepper 

1 Pack Dumpling Wrappers

 

1. Add all the ingredients together in a large bowl and mix well (For the Soy sauce and Sesame oil I just eyeballed it).

2. Fill a small bowl with water and get your dumpling wrappers ready.

3. Add about a tablespoon of filling to a wrapper, moisten the edge with water and fold over. Pinch the middle together to seal and then crimp the edges to form the dumpling (my mind works visually so I thought I would do a video of the process)

4. For seared dumplings heat a pan or wok with a little oil and sear until the bottoms are brown and crispy. Add 2 Tblsp water and cover the pan until the water has evaporated, and repeat once. 

I was going to make a dipping sauce but in the end was feeling a bit lazy so just served them with some sriracha and sweet chilli sauce. You could of course steam them but I prefer the texture of the crunch.

11 responses to “Pork and Chive Dumplings

  1. These look great. I like pan-fried dumplings more than boiled ones, and I think I’ll have to give these a try.

  2. yum! these are very moreish, I wonder how they would freeze? Also, wonder how the fillings would freeze, so you could knock a few different batches up…..and was that just 1 take with the crimping? 🙂

    • I froze a large amount of these but I haven’t cooked any yet, and it was 2 takes but only because the first was really out of focus

  3. Look good – now I want to make some!

    I usually do mine Japanese-style with finely chopped white cabbage, spring onion, chili oil and shichimi togarashi, which provide a bit of a kick. I can’t usually find garlic chives, so have tried to grow some – but they’re not really getting any bigger!

  4. Yum, these look fantastic. Great crimping also! I’d love to try these with the ginger you recommended.

  5. They look gorgeous. Ginger sounds like it would definitely be a good addition to the mix…

  6. These look fab – really professional looking!

    An idea for your consideration

    – Try a dipping sauce of black vinegar and fresh ginger that’s been cut into very very thin strips. That’s how my mates and I eat them, anyway

    Let me know what you think!

  7. Thanks Wen, I was going to make a dipping sauce along those lines but after all the dumpling folding got lazy, but next time definitely

  8. I made those dumplings and they were really gooooood! My whole family loved them. My only problem was they stick to each other and onto the tupperware which I used to freeze them. I managed to make 47pcs and so froze some of them for later consumption and they were disastrous. They stick so badly that by the time I forced them apart, most of the skin were torn and the filling was exposed. So anybody has any advice on how to freeze them? Please help me as I want to make again but does not want to face the same problem again. Thanks a million!!!

    • You need to freeze them individually first before putting them in a bag or box. Once you have made them line them on a baking sheet and pop it in the freezer. Once they have frozen you can pop them in a ziploc bag or plastic box and they shoudnt stick

  9. Thanks and appreciate your prompt response.

    2 questions here : Question 1 – besides the sticky situation with the skin, my dumplings were frozen to a slab instead of individual pieces. Will freezing them individually 1st solve this problem?

    Question 2 – do I need to defrost them before deeping frying or pan frying? I have tried defrosting and the skin got so wet, making it more delicate and they tear further.

    I guess the last resort would be to finish them all up within a day or make fresh ones whenever we want to eat (will prepare the filling and freeze and only to wrap on the day to cook).

    Thanks so much for your patience with me. I apologise if I had asked too much or not too “clever” questions.

Leave a Reply

