Fat Free Ice Cream Sandwich

Okay so let me start of by saying I didn’t set out to make a healthy fat free dessert it was more by chance. I was craving Ice cream and was wondering what to make when I noticed a post on thekitchn.com about making ice cream with just banana, no cream no eggs and no sugar, just simply frozen banana. Even though the post said it was successful I was still dubious, I mean how could “ice cream” with none of the traditional ingredients be similar in any way. You simply throw some bananas in the freezer and when they are frozen you peel them (a little tricky) and pop them in a food processor and blend until smooth and creamy, and believe me it is creamy.

If you eat it straight from that blend it is akin to frozen custard or soft serve but if you re-freeze it it can be scooped like ice cream and the texture becomes firmer (like ice cream). The flavour is pretty good but that is all down to your bananas, next time I would let the fruit ripen a bit more to improve the taste. The cookies I made to go with them are the fat free gingersnaps posted on Davidlebovitz.com at the start of the year. This is one of those recipes I set aside and which I turn to when I fancy baking something. When I was deciding to make a cookie for the ice cream this one jumped out because it was also fat free and I had been meaning to make a gingersnap for a while. The cookies were great, I loved their strong ginger spicy flavour a lot but they cant be called gingersnaps, these are only slightly crisp on the outside being soft and chewy on the inside being much more cakey than cookie textured but still really yummy.

David Lebovitz’s Nonfat Gingersnaps

a recipe inspired by Ina Garten

1 Cup Packed (215g) Dark Brown Sugar

1/4 Cup (75g) Applesauce

1/3 Cup (45g) Mild Mollases

2 1/4 Cups (315g) All Purpose Flour

1 Tsp Baking Soda

2 1/2 Tsp Ground Cinnamon

1 1/2 Tsp Ground Ginger

1/4 Tsp Ground Cloves

1/2 Tsp Freshly Ground Black Pepper

1/4 Tsp Salt

2 Large Egg Whites

1/2 Cup (50g) Finely Chopped Candied Ginger

Plus extra sugar for rolling the cookies (about 1/2 cup mixed with a big pinch of cinnamon)

1. In the bowl of a standing mixer beat the molasses, sugar and applesauce for five minutes on medium speed with the paddle attachment.

2. Sift together the flour, baking soda, spices and salt.

3. After 5 minutes have passed stop the mixer, scrape down and add the egg whites. Beat for an additional minute.

4. With the mixer on its lowest speed incorporate the flour mixture until fully mixed and then mix on medium for another minute.

5. Stir in the ginger and refrigerate the dough well.

6. Preheat the oven to 350F / 180C and line two baking sheets with parchment.

7. Put some cinnamon sugar in a small bowl. Scoop out large tablespoon sized balls of dough and dump into the sugar rolling around to coat and then using your hands to form balls. The more sugar you get on the dough the crunchier the crust.

8. Space the cookies about 3 inches apart on the lined sheets and bake for 13 minutes or until just barely set in the middle. Remove from the oven and let cool, although they are really good warm.

Notes: I used black treacle which worked fine, I made applesauce by putting cooking apples in an oven proof dish and cooking until soft and then scooping out the fruit. The cookies keep great, well wrapped they will last 5 days, the dough will last a week if kept chilled and can also be frozen as can the cookies.

7 responses to “Fat Free Ice Cream Sandwich

  1. I saw that post at The Kitchn, and was pretty dubious about it, I’ll admit. But your “ice cream” looks great! I bet you could have fun adding things at the purée stage, like nuts, nutella, peanut butter…. oh, I’m making myself hungry now!

  2. Oh my goodness, this is really cool! I actually really like frozen banana (like whole chunks of it!) but I had no idea it would go creamy when blended. I am definitely going to try this.

  3. That definitely doesn’t look fat free!

    I’ve made a similar version of this ice cream, but with frozen bananas and berries blended together instead of just plain berries. I also made a version with canned pears and dark chocolate with the bananas. There’s something about the texture of the bananas that really works. Love the sound of those gingersnaps, will have to try them at some stage…

  4. Those biscuits are great, and I thought they tasted a lot better the next day (after some time for the ginger to mature).

    How did you find scooping and rolling the mixture? To me it was like rolling extra sticky glue – stuff was getting everywhere 🙂 – I found by double dusting them in the sugar they were easier to roll.
    If I try them again I think I will try to make them thinner and more “snappy” – but a fab recipe 🙂

    I’ve heard about the banana thing before, great idea.

    I too did some blueberry and lemon muffins, they were ok but I think you need really pungent berries (maybe do them in a stock syrup then mix in?) – I also overworked mine, still quite new to baking though 🙂

    • Didnt find it too bad but definitely stickier than normal, not sure they would go snappy if you made them thinner better off using a different recipe that isn’t fat free

Leave a Reply

