Falafel

One of the things that can almost always be found in my kitchen is a can of chickpeas. Usually I use the chickpeas for a curry type dish but last weekend I was really in the mood for falafel. After rooting around the kitchen it turned out I had everything I needed apart from parsley. After a quick walk to the store I had freshly made Falafel in just 15 minutes. The recipe I used suggests making the dough into 4 patties and using like burgers, which I did with half, but it can just as easily made into standard rounds. When making meals and savoury things whilst often happy im normally not enamored enough that i’d make the dish again (due to my lack of talent really) but this was so easy whilst also being really tasty. I will most definitely be making these again.

Falafel – BBC Good Food

400g (1 can) Chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1 Garlic Clove, chopped

Handful Flat Leaf Parsley

1 Small Red Onion, roughly chopped

1 Tsp Ground Cumin

1Tsp Ground Corriander

1/2 Tsp Harissa Paste or Chili Powder

2 Tblsp Plain Flour

2 Tblsp Sunflower Oil

Toasted Pita Bread

Tomato Salsa + Green Salad to serve

1. Pat the chickpeas dry with kitchen paper. Tip into the food processor along with the onion, garlic, parsley, spices, flour and a little salt. Blend until fairly smooth then shape into patties or traditional rounds (the original recipe suggests 4 patties).

2. Heat the oil in a non stick frying pan, add the patties/rounds and fry for 3 minutes on each side until lightly golden.

3. Serve in toasted pittas with tomato salsa and a little green salad, (I served with some deseeded/diced tomato, cucumber and lettuce with a little sriracha for a bit more heat)

Leave a Reply

