Toasted Coconut Ice Cream

Coconut haters may want to turn away and come back next week because this week is going to an ode to one of my favourite ingredients, coconut. Simply put I love the stuff, but often stay away from using it because i’m always worried that what I end up making will just sit there unloved and uneaten. So I decided to make some coconut ice cream because it obviously lasts very well and since you steep the coconut, and then discard it, you remove many peoples biggest complaint: the texture. This ice cream comes again from, where else, David Lebovitz’s amazing book “The Perfect Scoop” which if I have not convinced you already is a really great buy. This Ice Cream was seriously good, the flavour well balanced, not overpowering but not too delicate either. The texture was the best yet, the rum kept it soft enough to scoop and was slightly dense and buttery. Thankfully I wasn’t the only one to agree so this did not last long, which was a shame because it would have been nice to have some more of this, I guess ill have to move to coconut hating household so I can keep this to myself. I currently have a ton of egg whites in the freezer so if anyone has some great recipes for left over whites I would love to hear them, my copy of Pierre Herme’s “Macaron” should arrive next week so that will take care of some but seriously I have loads!

Toasted Coconut Ice Cream

David Lebovitz – The Perfect Scoop

1 Cup (70g) Dried Shredded Coconut, preferably unsweetened

1 Cup (250ml) Whole Milk

2 Cups (500ml) Heavy Cream

3/4 Cup (150g) Sugar

Big Pinch of Salt

1 Vanilla Bean, split in half lengthwise

5 Large Egg Yolks

1/2 Tsp Vanilla Extract or 1 Tsp Rum (I doubled the rum)

1. Preheat the oven to 350F (175C). Spread the coconut evenly on a baking tray and bake for 5-8 mins stirring it frequently. Remove from the oven once its golden brown and fragrant.

2. In a medium saucepan, warm the milk, 1 cup (250ml) of the heavy cream, sugar, and salt and add the toasted coconut. Using a paring knife scrape all the vanilla seeds into the pan and add the bean too. Cover, remove from the heat and let steep for 1 hour at room temperature.

3.Rewarm the coconut mixture. Set a mesh strainer over another medium saucepan and strain the coconut into it. Press down on the coconut very firmly with a rubber spatula to extract as much liquid as possible. Remove the vanilla bean and rinse and dry for another use (homemade vanilla extract maybe?), discard the coconut.

4. Pour the remaining 1 cup (250ml) heavy cream into a large bowl and set the mesh strainer over it. In a seperate medium bowl whisk together the egg yolks. Slowly pour the warm coconut coconut mixture into the eggs yolks, whisking constantly, then pour the egg mixture back into the pan.

5. Stir the mixture constantly over medium heat with a spatula, scraping the base of the pasn as you stir, until the mixture has thickened and coats the back of the spatula. Pour the custard through the strainer into the cream then stir in the vanilla or rum. Stir over an ice bath till cool.

6. Chill the mixture thoroughly in the refrigerator, then freeze it in your ice cream maker.

7 responses to “Toasted Coconut Ice Cream

  1. I’m a huge coconut fan, and always looking for new ways to indulge! This sounds fab, looking forward to trying it!

  2. while i can not argue with david, i will say, as an alternative coconut ice cream making experiment, try coconut or demerara sugar instead of white sugar.

    and/or reverse the cream:milk ratio. my experience is that when one ‘infuses’ coconut into dairy, the coconut ‘puts out’ a lot of it’s own fat into said liquid & then ice cream doesn’t need so much butterfat…

  3. I love his ice cream recipes too and I adore coconut. I made the candied bacon ice cream from his site recently and that was amazing too!

  4. That book certainly seems to have a lot of neat recipes. Now I just need an ice cream maker…

  5. I just made this toasted coconut ice cream last week. LOVED it!

  6. oh my! first ever ice cream made today (cheated by using my ice cream maker), and am hooked! having to reorganise my freezer so I can begin making more flavours – thanks Ed!

Leave a Reply

