Banana Bread with Coconut

Since bananas are available all year round and don’t really have a season you can make this loaf anytime but for me it seemed perfect for right now. The summer is most definitely over and its started to get slightly cooler with little spurts of rain, and so what better than some fresh warm banana bread. To say I was dubious of this cake would be a little of an understatement because its a cake with no eggs, the leavening comes from the baking soda and vinegar alone. This is something I had never tried before but it actually came out really well. The addition of coconut is also a lovely addition, adding another level of flavour although it is delicate but it was a great way to use up left over coconut. Banana bread was chosen because I had bananas speedily ripening on the counter that either needed eating or cooking with. I obviously decided to bake. I initially thought of making the brown butter banana bread on amateurgourmet.com but as I had coconut hanging around I settled on this and im very happy with it. My absolute  favourite way to eat banana bread is lightly toasted spread with a little butter and this was just perfect for that and since the top is encrusted with demerara you also get that slightly caramel flavour along with the texture of the crunch just perfect.

Banana Coconut Bread

Adapted from HomeBaking: The Artful Mix of Flour and Tradition around the World

by Jeffrey Alford and Naomi Duguid – Via Orangette

About 3 Large Ripe Bananas (mine could have been riper)

2 Cups All Purpose Flour

3/4 Tsp Baking Soda

1/2 Tsp Freshly Grated Nutmeg

Pinch of Salt

1 Stick (113g) Unsalted Butter, room temp

1 Cup Granulated Sugar

1/8 Tsp Distilled White Vinegar

1 1/2 Tblsp Dark Rum

1/2 Cup Dried Shredded Unsweetened Coconut

1 Tbslp Demerara Sugar

1. Preheat the oven to 350F/175C. Butter a standard loaf pan.

2. In a blender or food processor puree the bananas and measure out 1 1/2 cups worth and set aside.

3. In a medium bowl whisk together the flour, baking soda, nutmeg and salt. Set aside.

4. In a large bowl, or a standing mixer, beat the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the rum and vinegar and beat well to incorporate. Add the banana and flour mixture alternately, about a cup at a time, starting with the banana beating just till incorporated. Use a spatula to fold in any flour not fully incorporated then lightly stir in the coconut making sure not to over mix.

5. Scrape the batter into the prepared pan, smooth the top and sprinkle evenly with the demerara. Bake for 50-65 mins or until the top is nicely browned and a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean. Cool in the pan on a wire rack for 20 minuted before turning out and cooling completely

6 responses to “Banana Bread with Coconut

  1. The crust looks delicious! I’m going to bookmark this, especially for the days when I run out of eggs.

  2. While I’m not a huge fan of coconut, this bread looks really moist and delicious. I love the addition of the coarse sugar on the top.

  3. No eggs, huh? Would be good for someone with allergies. I love coconut and love banana bread but never thought of putting the two together. This looks delicious and I like how the top is sprinkled with sugar before baking – nice touch!

  4. Hmm, I love banana bread, never tried it with coconut before! Looks fantastic.

  5. Sounds good, Iv’e never made banana bread without eggs before. My recipe for banana bread comes from the Betty Crocker coobook! My husband is allways buying banana’s and then he never eat’s them! I don’t like them very much… I have a grocery sack full of over ripe banana’s in my freezer that need to be used! I ‘m going to make banana whoopie pies. I found the recipe in a Martha Stewart magazine. Hopfully I’ll get to them next week and I’ll post the recipe on my blog…
    Happy Baking everyone!!! 🙂
    Amanda

  6. I have bananas that need using so will be making this. Could someone tell me the equivalent weight of 1 cup all purpose flour and is all purpose, plain or self raising?

Leave a Reply

