Plum and Apple Crumble

Right let me have a look around…cant see her…no I don’t think she’s around so I can tell you about my recipe for crumble. My Mum is the queen of crumble in our family, in fact I cant think of a crumble i’ve eaten that she hasn’t made. My family can all tell you how much I love her version, I can and do eat quite a lot of it. Its a very simple homely affair, absolutely perfect on that cold evening along with a little cream or ice cream, but as much as I love my Mums version it pretty much always stays the same (which is no bad thing, don’t get me wrong). I like to experiment in the kitchen and since she not around for a while and its getting cooler I jumped into the kitchen and made my own version. I went for a plum and apple mix with a bit of vanilla, topped with a standard crumble topping with coconut added for flavour. Whilst it is not my Mums version it was just what I was craving and i’m sure she would approve. 

Plum + Apple Crumble with Coconut Topping

50g Plain Flour

60g Dessicated Coconut

40g Unsalted Butter

2 Tblsp Golden Caster Sugar

1 large Apple

4 Small Plums

2 Tblsp Brown Sugar

1/4 Tsp Vanilla Extract

1. Mix the flour, coconut, and golden caster sugar in a medium bowl. Add the butter and rub it in until the mixture resembles bread crumbs. Set aside. Pre-heat the oven to 180C/350F.

2. Peel, core, and chop the apple into eights.  Stone and chop the plums into eights. Mix the fruit with the brown sugar and vanilla mixing to coat evenly.

3. Divide the fruit mixture between 2 ovenproof dishes (about 1 cup capacity) and top with the crumble. Bake for around 20-30 minutes until golden on top. Serve with a scoop of ice cream or a drizzle of cream.

Notes: Would be interesting to add a bit of spice to the fruit maybe cinnamon or star anise. The topping was a little on the loose side might need to up the butter ever so slightly.

2 responses to “Plum and Apple Crumble

  1. My mom’s the same way in that she’ll often go for her recipes instead of making a new one.

    I like how thick the coating looks, and that it has coconut.

  2. Passing some blog love your way. Stop by my blog to see what I mean. : )
    ~Michelle

Leave a Reply

