Caramelised Apple Cake

Certain foods will always remind me of different seasons even if it is something I have all year round. Apples for example are not exclusive to the current time but add a bit of cinnamon and all I can think of is curling up at home, where its warm, eating apples in a crumble or, with this new recipe, in a rustic warming cake. This is a great backup as there is no out of the ordinary ingredients and it can be whipped up pretty fast so is a great recipe to have for emergencies or lazy sundays where you want something a bit sweet but with minimal effort. I would say to make sure you apple layer isnt too thick. I chose large apples and ended up with quite a substantial layer which resulted in a slightly soggy top, but to honest it was still really tasty so im just being picky, it also might be that I didnt cook the apples enough maybe. This recipe comes from Olive magazine which I have recently started to buy. I never really bought food magazines but recently have started getting this and Gourmet, which of course has now gone belly up. When I started to get the magazines I told myself that I must cook at least one recipe from each edition so if I can keep to my word you should see recipes from magazines regularly (definitely for the time being as I have another 2 done coming up soon)

3 Apples, Cored and Sliced

150g Butter, Softend

25g Light Brown Muscavado Sugar

125g Golden Caster Sugar

2 Large Eggs, beaten

125g Self Raising Flour

1 Tsp Baking Powder

1 Tsp Ground Cinnamon

1. Preheat the oven to 180C/Fan 160C 356F/Fan 320F. Put the apples in a large, non stick frying pan with 25g butterand muscavado sugar and cook over medium heat for 3-4 minutes until just tender and caramelised, stirring occasionally. Remove from the heat.

2. Butter and line a 20cm round, deep cake pan. Using a slotted spoon arrange the apples in the base, reserving the juices for later. Beat the remaining butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Gradually beat in the eggs , then sift in the flour, baking powder and cinnamon. Fold gently to combine, then spoon the mixture on top of the apples. Level and then bake int he oven for 30-35 mins or until springy to the touch.

3. Leave the cake to cool for 5 minutes then turn out onto a serving plate and spoon over the reserved pan juices.

6 responses to “Caramelised Apple Cake

  1. Sounds yummy. I like the idea of cooking at least one recipe from each magazine you get. I’ll look forward to seeing what you choose.

  2. It amazes me that if something has apples and/or caramel, I undeniably intrigued. This cake has both, I would say I am verging on overwhelmed. Do I have time to make this now?

  3. ooooh, this looks delicious! I’m on a massive caramel binge at the moment, so this is going on the “to make” list!

  4. This looks…so good. Caramel and apples were meant to go together. Apples always make me think of autumn 🙂 Olive magazine is a good one, I always like to make sure I use recipes from food mags I get, it’s too easy to forget about them.

  5. This looks delicious. Caramel & apples are made for each other and the smell from this cake must be autumn itself. Fabulous.

  6. Oh how well that would go with warm custard! Or dare I say chocolate for Christmas?

Leave a comment