Banana Crumb Muffins

I seem to have gained something of a reputation as the resident baker at my office. We recently got a new manager and we had to do one of those awkward, cringe inducing, introductions and after I had said my bit one of my colleagues shouted “he bakes too”. Another colleague also recently brought me bakeware they had no use for. She had been convinced to buy a muffin pan from “Pampered Chef” a buy-at-home company I had never heard of. It was stoneware and had never been used but was only given to me on the promise of muffins in return. I settled on this and even though I dont use the recipe websites like Allrecipes very often, sometimes you just cant deny the agreement of 4500 reviews over the quality of a recipe. These were really moist and flavourful and I loved the crunchy topping, although it was a little too sweet and next time I would reduce the sugar a bit.

1 1/2 Cups Plain Flour

1 Tsp Baking Soda

1 Tsp Baking Powder

1/2 Tsp Salt

1/2 Tsp Nutmeg

3/4 Tsp Ground Cinnamon

3 Bananas, Mashed

3/4 Cup Granulated Sugar

1 Egg, lightly beaten

1 Tsp Vanilla

1/3 Cup Butter, melted

1/3 Cup Packed Brown Sugar

2 Tblsp Plain Flour

1/8 Tsp Ground Cinnamon

1 Tblsp Butter

1. Preheat the oven to 375F/190C. Lightly grease 10 muffin cups or line with muffin papers.

2. In a large bowl, mix together 1 1/2 cups flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, nutmeg and cinnamon. In another bowl, beat together the bananas, sugar, egg, melted butter and vanilla. Stir the banana mixture into the flour just until combined. Divide the batter between the prepared pan.

3. In a small bowl mix together the brown sugar, flour and cinnamon. Cut in the 1 Tblsp butter until the mixture resembles coarse cornmeal. Sprinkle this mixture over the muffins.

4. Bake in the preheated oven for 18-20 mins, until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.

I almost had a disaster on my hands with these because after I had divided the batter into the muffin pan when I realised that I had forgotten the egg. I scrapped the mixture back into the bowl, added the egg and thankfully rescued the mixture. Im going to blame the time I spent with the bananas, I ended up using some I had frozen when they were getting too ripe to eat. It took me a ridiculously long time to peel them so I ended up rushing the rest of the recipe. As for the stoneware muffin pan my colleague gave me, it actually worked very well with very even cooking.

3 responses to “Banana Crumb Muffins

  1. These look tasty, and I love a good banana muffin. The crumb topping looks intriguing (in a good way!)

  2. I get embarrassed by the “she bakes!” comments at work. Worse is “She has a baking blog!”, though it’s my own damn fault for not keeping it secret.

Leave a Reply

