Clementine Curd

Im currently writing this curled up, wrapped up and desperately trying to stay warm as it is currently -5c and our heating has broken. Not a great start to my day but on the upside, because the poor weather has caused traffic chaos, I have been told not to go into the office for the day, so silver linings and all that I guess. As the white weather has hung on now well beyond christmas I am trying to keep the festive feeling too and so on a bit of a whim decided to make a clementine curd. I was flipping through some food magazines when I came across this Jamie Oliver recipe which I quickly scribbled down before running for my train so hopefully I got it right. I have adapted the recipe slightly adding in some lime and reducing the lemon, also amending the method just a tiny bit. I have been enjoying the curd on my toast for breakfast over the past week and it is very good, not as tart or acidic as lemon curd. I could have cooked it a little longer as it was not as thick as I would have liked but its no big problem really.

Clementine Curd

Adapted from Jamie Oliver Magazine – Makes 2-3 jars

6 Clementines

1 Lemon

2 Limes

350g Caster Sugar

4 Eggs, beaten

2 Egg Yolks, beaten

100g Unsalted Butter, diced

1. Zest the fruit into a bowl along with the sugar. Using your fingertips rub the zest into the sugar until fragrant and moist.

2. Juice the fruit and pour over the sugar add the eggs and whisk together to combine. Add the butter and place the bowl over a bain marie set on a low heat.

3. Stirring constantly cook the mixture until it thickens and coats the back of the spoon, this can take quite a while but once it begins to thicken it happens fast. Once cooked to the desired consistency pour through a sieve and into sterilised jars. Refrigerate and use within 2 weeks.

6 responses to “Clementine Curd

  1. Just the name sounds so much more sophisticated than plain old lemon curd and it looks delicious.

  2. This looks great! So fresh and so original. Yum!

  3. Love the photo of the zest nestled in the sugar! I am a big fan of fruit curds…this one sounds so fresh and fruity!

  4. The colour of the zests and the finished product is gorgeous! Must be lovely first thing in the morning on buttery toast.

  5. Sounds gorgeous. Perfect on toasted brioche, with butter as well! Works really well with blood oranges and Sevilles as well.

  6. Do you know if this can be made with stevia instead of sugar? And if it can be canned. SOoooo Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

