S’more Marshmallows

When an idea or recipe jumps into my head it will eventually get made, its just  that sometimes it gets tucked to the back of mind and can stay there for years before I finally get around to it (see my next post). Todays post was not one of those times. The idea for these popped into head in the morning and by the afternoon I was in the kitchen. I love s’mores but only had a “real” one in the last six months. When I was younger I was a scout and it wasnt really a great fit, one of the few things I did enjoy was the toasted marshmallows between digestives served around the campfire and whilst delicious its not the real thing. S’mores supposedly originated with the Girl Scout’s in the US going back to at least the 1920’s and the traditional standard is the requisite toasted marshmallow with chocolate between two graham crackers. Family friends visited recently from the US and decided to bring over the ingredients for the real thing and apart from the chocolate which tasted like, well, vomit (sorry but Hershey’s really is disgusting) I loved the taste of the cracker, which have more flavour than British digestives. But enough with the backstory and waffling, let me get to the point. I had the idea to combine the three elements of the s’more into one little treat. I made very soft marshallow’s dipped them in chocolate and rolled them in homemade graham cracker crumbs. These were so good I could easily of eaten more of these then would have been advisable. These are best the day they are made because after a day the cracker looses some of its crunch.

Vanilla Marshmallow’s – amended from French Laundry Cookbook (Via About.com)

1 1/2 cups cold water

3 envelops Knox Gelatin (I used 1.5 envelopes of Supercook gelatin which are bigger than knox)

2 cups granulated sugar

2/3 cups corn syrup

1/4 cups water

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 vanilla bean

icing sugar for dredging

1. Sprinkle the gelatin over 1/2 cup cold water in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the whisk. Let sit for 10 minutes. Line a 9×9 inch pan with lightly oiled plastic wrap.

2. Combine the sugar, corn syrup and 1/4 cup water in a saucepan. Bring to a boil and boil hard for 1 minute.

3. Set the mixer going on medium and pour the syrup down the side of the bowl avoiding the whisk, also adding the salt. Turn the mixer to high speed and whisk for 12 minutes. Add the vanilla extract and the beans from the vanilla pod and mix to combine.

4. Pour the marshmallow into the prepared pan and cover with more oiled plastic wrap and let sit for at least of a couple of hours.

(if you intend to dip them all in chocolate you can actually just oil the pan and dust with icing sugar, pour the marshmallow into the pan and dust with more icing sugar – this will make them easier to cut)

S’more Marshmallows

1. Cut the marshmallow into cubes and dust with icing sugar and dip into tempered chocolate then roll in graham cracker crumbs. Set on a parchment lined baking sheet until the chocolate sets. Best served the same day. If you dont want to bother with tempering chocolate you can roll marshmallows that haven’t been dusted in icing sugar straight into graham cracker crumbs and enjoy plain.

Graham Crackers – Nancy Silverton’s “Pastries from La Brea Bakery” (via Smitten Kitchen)

makes 48 2-inch square cookies

375g all purpose flour (I substituted 75g with wholewheat flour)

176g dark brown sugar

1 tsp baking soda

3/4 tsp salt

100g unsalted butter, cut into 1-inch cubes and frozen

114g mild flavoured honey

5 tblsp milk

2 tblsp vanilla extract

1. Add the flour, sugar, baking soda and salt to your food processor and pulse to combine. Add the cubed butter and pulse together until the mixture resembles a coarse meal.

2. In a small bowl whisk together the honey, milk and vanilla. Pour this into the food processor and pulse until the mixture just comes together. The dough will be sticky and soft but this is what you want. Dust a large piece of plastic wrap lightly with flour and dump  the dough out onto it. Form into a 1-inch thick rectangle. Wrap and chill in the fridge for about 2 hours or until firm (I made the dough the day before).

3. Cut the dough in half and return one portion to the fridge. Roll the dough out on a lightly floured surface to a thickness of about 1/8-inch, trying to keep the dough in a uniform rectangle shape. Cut into 2 inch squares, gather any scraps and chill before re-rolling. Repeat with the second portion of dough then place the cookies on  parchment lined baking sheets, prick with a fork to prevent rising. Refrigerate for  30 to 45 mins until firm, preheat oven to 350f/175C with the oven racks in the upper and lower third. Sprinkle with a mixture of 1 tblsp cinnamon and 3 tbslp sugar. Bake for  15-20 minutes, rotating halfway through, until browned a slightly firm to the touch.

9 responses to “S’more Marshmallows

  1. That is a kick ass idea! I made S’more shooters at work – chocolate mouse, homemade graham cracker chunks and toasted (pipped) marshmallow on top. I love your idea – very unique and so much more pleasant to eat I would think – I always hated eating the S’more because the chocolate was always hard (and not very tasty – as you pointed out). Happy Baking!

  2. Oh wow, what a fantabulous idea!! Looks great!

  3. These looks delicious! …and dangerously addicting. 🙂

  4. I like your blog, I’m still new at this. I’m not much of a writer, but I love to bake and cook!!! Thnaks for checking out my blog!!! Amanda 🙂

  5. This is such a cool idea! Good on you for going to all that effort 🙂 The recipe for graham crackers makes me think they’d be a lot nicer than the name makes them sound, if that makes sense. I always thought Graham crackers were a bit more savoury than that.

  6. I was reading about making my own marshmallows just yesterday and then I come across this today, clearly a sign. I have some graham cracker crumbs left over from the January Daring Baker’s challenge, they’re very tasty and not at all like the digestive biscuits they seem to get compared with.

    Lovely stuff!

  7. It’s the first time that I visit your blog…amazing and very colourful! When I saw the last picture of this post I thought about my Speculoos:
    http://panetteriadolceforno.blogspot.com/2010/11/ricetta-in-anteprimavi-aspettiamo.html (look at the last picture!!) 🙂
    cheers
    Martina

Leave a Reply

