Lemon Glazed Madeleines

Its time to say au revoir, I’m of to France, spending a week in the city of lights, old gay Paree. Yes im finally getting out of here for a bit of relaxation and more importantly food, specifically pastries. Im spending a week in Paris and its my plan to visit and sample as many patisseries as my stomach will humanly deem possible. By the time I come back I expect I will have put on countless pounds but I dont care, I plan to enjoy this trip to its fullest. I will hopefully have a post or two popping up whilst im away, if I ever get round to writing them, but I thought I would leave you with a little French treat, the Madeleine.  I have no Proustian (pretty sure thats not a word) connection to them, in fact before I made these I have never even tried one. I know its probably cliched but these would be perfect served with tea as they are not too sweet and just the right size, and if you find yourself eating more than one you can console yourself by pretending there small stature means the calories dont count.

Before I get to the recipe I thought I would give you all an update on my progress with the BBC Baking show. I attended the final audition and im now down to the final few, I think the audition went well and I think I have a good chance but to be honest I don’t know what the production company or the BBC are looking for so I really don’t know what will happen. Whatever does happens it has been a very different and interesting process. I loved the recent audition, cooking under pressure while being filmed and interviewed was surprisingly lots of fun and I met some really lovely people.

Lemon Glazed Madeleines – David Lebovitz “A Sweet Life in Paris”

makes 24 cakes

135g unsalted butter, melted and cooled to room temp

3 large eggs, room temperature

130g granulated sugar

rounded 1/8 tsp salt

175g flour

1 tsp baking powder

grated zest of 1 small lemon

Glaze

105g icing sugar

1 tblsp lemon juice

2 tblsp water

1. Brush the cavities of the madeleine mould with melted butter (not from the ingredients above), dust with flour tapping out the excess. Place the mould in the freezer.

2. Crack the eggs into the bowl of a standing mixer add the sugar and salt, whisk for 5 minutes until frothy and thickened.

3. Fold the flour and baking soda over the eggs whilst simultaneously folding the mixture.

4. Add the lemon zest to the butter then dribble this mixture over a couple of spoonfuls at a time again whilst simultaneously folding it in. Fold just until the butter is completely incorporated.

5. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and refrigerate for up o 12 hours.

6. To bake preheat the oven to 425F / 210C

7. Using 2 teaspoons scoop mixture into the prepared pan leaving it the spread out on its own. Bake for 8-10 mins until cakes feel springy and just set.  While the cakes are baking make the glaze by mixing the three ingredients until smooth.

8. Remove the madeleines from the oven and tip out onto a wire rack to cool. Once cool enough to handle dip and coat in the glaze, scraping off any excess. Place back on the rack to set the glaze.

Notes: best served when fresh but if needed can be kept for 3 days in an airtight container

2 responses to “Lemon Glazed Madeleines

  1. These look great. Do you need to refrigerate the mixture before baking?

    Enjoy Paris… if you can get there!

  2. Hi Edd,
    I have been following the Great British Bake Off over the past couple of months and I admit that is how I have come across your blog. I’m really glad you made it to the end- it must be an amazing feeling. I love baking myself and it was great watching people with the same passions as me! After reading this post I had to comment, I would love to visit Paris myself just to spend every day in and out of patisseries because my dream is to open my own patisserie/bakery one day and it would be great to see how its all done in the French capital.
    These madeleines look lovely and I will have to give them a go as I have only made plain ones before. I always pretend calories don’t count when things are small- I usually cut myself slivers of cake just so I can keep going back for more!
    I hope Paris was as good as it seems!
    -Claire

Leave a Reply

