Carrot Cake Cookies

Have you ever had an idea you were really happy with only to find out it wasn’t unique or original like you thought it was. I was travelling to work and as normal my mind wasn’t on the day ahead instead it was where it normally is, back in the kitchen thinking up ideas. In fact most of the ideas I have come at odd moments, often just before I go to bed or at the gym, but more often than not they come whilst I’m bored at work. Unfortunately I wont have that time to dream up recipes I want to play with or techniques I want to try because as of last Friday I joined the ranks of the unemployed. I handed in my notice and left. Do I have something new and exciting lined up I hear you ask? No. So yes, maybe not the smartest thing taking a risk like this in this climate but I have decided it was time for some changes and to just make the leap. I’m taking a little time to do some thinking and planning about the future and am really excited to see what’s next (and on that note if anyone knows a pastry chef or baker that might be looking to take on a trainee drop me a line). Anyway like I said this idea wasn’t original it turns out there are loads of recipes out there for carrot cake cookies. I haven’t finished coming up with my own recipe so until then this is Martha’s and you know what? They are seriously good, although I used my own filling recipe.

Carrot Cake Cookies
Adapted from
Martha Stewart

1 cup packed light brown sugar
1 cup granulated sugar
2 sticks unsalted butter
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups plain flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1/2 tsp ground ginger
2 cups rolled-oats
1 1/2 cups finely grated carrots
1 cup raisins

1. Preheat the oven 350F/175C and line 2 baking trays with parchment paper. Beat the sugars and butter in an electric mixer for 3-4 minutes until light and fluffy.

2. Add the egss and vanilla and beat on medium to combine. In a large bowl sift together the flour, , baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger. Add the flour to the egg mixture in a few additions mixing just to combine. Add the oats, carrot and raisins and stir in. Refrigerate the dough for around an hour until firmed up slightly.

3. Scoop out dough, using a tablespoon sized scoop, onto the lined baking trays, leaving a couple of inches between. Bake the cookies for 12-15 minutes until the dough has flattened out and just gone crisp on the edges. Cool on a wire rack. Once cooled sandwich two cookies with about 2 teaspoons of cream cheese filling. Will keep stored in a sealed container for about 3 days.

Note: I much preferred these on the second day, the cookies became even more soft and tender

Cream Cheese Filling

250g unsalted butter, room temperature

400g full-fat cream cheese

300g icing sugar

2 tblsp milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

1. Beat the butter until smooth and creamy. Add the icing sugar a little at a time and beat until combined and smooth.

2. beat in the milk and vanilla extract then add the cream cheese and beat just to combine.

Note: This filling is based on a ratio from a friend and works really well with UK cream cheese which is softer than that from the US.


6 responses to “Carrot Cake Cookies

  1. oneordinaryday

    Ooh, these look yummy!

  2. It takes a lot of courage to take that leap so good on you!! Carrot cake cookies sounds delicious! ….and Good luck for the future!

  3. these look so amazing but it’s really funny because last year I thought I came up with a similar ideas for carrot cake scones… basically scones with grated carrot, and all the other goodies that go into a carrot cake and then instead of a clotted cream topping one could serve them with a classic carrot cake cream cheese topping… they were AMAZING but alas not original in any way shape or form! x

  4. Never strive to be original. You lose competitions! 🙂

  5. Um, yeah. These look amazing.
    That really is a great idea!

  6. These look really good! Carrot cake on the go!

Leave a Reply

