Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

I have noticed a lot of internet searches looking for my oatmeal raisin cookie from episode two of The Great British Bake Off so I thought I would do a post with the recipe I used on the show. If you want to know the backstory of the recipe you can read this. The recipe is simple and easy to make, the only thing that is a little different is the use of milk powder and very finely chopped white chocolate to add a milky/creaminess to the cookie. I have changed it slightly from the published recipe, if you want a thicker slighty cakier version use the one in the this months BBC Good Food Magazine.

Before I get to the recipe I also want to let you know about a great event I am doing in October. The Chocolate Consultancy, The Cake Nest and Look Mum No Hands have joined together to hold “The Great Brownie Bake Off” a competition to find Britains best brownie, as cooked by home bakers. It will be held Saturday October 9th 2010 at http://www.lookmumnohands.com/ in London. If you think you have a great recipe then enter it and you could win a six-month supply of Divine chocolate and your recipe will be used by The Cake Nest for there brownies. The brownies will be judged by a panel of experts including Paul A Young, my favourite London chocolatier. On the day there will be lots going on and I will be doing a baking demonstration. You have until 2 October 2010 to enter your recipe, more info can be found here.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

150g raisins

265g plain flour

95g porridge oats

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/8 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

225g unsalted butter

135g granualted sugar

145g light brown sugar

80ml glucose

1 large egg

40g white chocolate, very finely chopped

30g non-fat milk powder

1. Line 4 baking sheets with parchment and preheat the oven to 190C.

2. Pour hot water over the raisins and leave to soak for 10 minutes.

3. In a bowl seive the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and milk pwder together, set aside.

4.In an electric mixer beat the butter, sugars and glucose until smooth. Beat in the egg until fully combined. Add the flour mixture, and mix to combine.

5. Stir in the white chocolate, raisins, and oats, mixing until distributed evenly.

6. Divide the dough into 25 equal portions (I use a cookie sccop) and refrigerate for 15 minutes before baking for 10 minutes or until edges are golden and the centers are still pale.


4 responses to “Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

  1. I love these biscuits and I had a press release from Chocolate Consultancy about the brownie competition, I will have to see if I can get around to submitting something! I am as ever a week behind with watching GBBO but I suspect you are still in it a while yet…

  2. That’s all rather exciting! I’d enter, except as ever, I won’t be around. Gutted.

  3. ooh how delish – sounds like the perfect recipe for a spot of weekend baking….

  4. Yay! I was one of the people searching for this recipe, I was so disappointed to find it wasn’t in the book…probably too American. I’m so pleased I found your blog, it’s fantastic x

Leave a Reply

