Chocolate Peanut Crinkles

Super simple but impressive cookie recipe today. These are not traditional cookies, they dont have the same texture, they are actually nearer brownies, although not gooey in the same way. The impressive thing about these is that they are rolled in icing sugar so that when they are baked they crackle and reveal the chocolate cookie beneath. The recipe makes loads, I got 45 from the cookie dough, thankfully they were baked as a favour for an event so they didnt go to waste. The recipe comes from the new book by the White House pastry chef Bill Yosses, The Perfect Finish. The book has some wonderful sounding recipes from a Chocolate and Salted Caramel Tart to Chocolate Chip Cookies with Nutella, I cant wait to try some more.

Chocolate Peanut Crinkles – Bill Yosses, The Perfect Finish

2/3 cup (56g) toasted skinned unsalted peanuts

2 tblsp (25g) granulated sugar

6 ounces (170g) dark chocolate (60-66% Cacoa content)

2 3/4 cups (357g) plain flour

2 tblsp cocoa powder

2 tsp baking soda

3/4 tsp salt

1 1/2 cups (342g) light brown sugar

8 tblsp (1 stick, 112g) unsalted butter, softened

2 large eggs

1/4 cup (60g) whole milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

3/4 cup (85g) icing sugar

1. Place the peanuts and granulated sugar in the bowl of food processor and finely chop. Set a bowl over a pan of simmering water add in the chocolate and melt.

2. Sift the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt into a bowl, set aside. In an electric mixer cream the butter and brown sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs a little at a time, beating until incorporated. Slowly beat in the melted chocolate, then scrape down the bowl. Mix in the vanilla and milk.

3. Mix the flour mixture in three additions then fold in the peanuts. Press plastic wrap onto the dough and place the bowl in the fridge for minimum of three hours, or overnight.

4. Once the dough is chilled preheat the oven to 350F  / 175C and line twobaking sheets with parchment paper. Place the icing sugar into a medium sized bowl.

5. scoop out a heaping tablepsoon of dough (I found a small ice cream scoop perfect for this) roll into a ball then roll in the icing sugar, then place on the baking sheet. These cookies do spread so leave plenty of space between so they dont stick together.

6. Bake the cookies for 12-15 mins until cracked but not completely firm, cool on the baking sheet before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely. kept airtight these will keep for up to 2 days.

10 responses to “Chocolate Peanut Crinkles

  1. That icing sugar crust is so cool!

  2. love the picture but better yet….these little ones look exquisite!

  3. Have made these before without peanuts. Amazing cookies. You got me just as I was thinking I need to come off the sugar for a few weeks…

  4. Your crinkles are gorgeous! I’ve made these before but I really love the addition of peanuts! I’ll try it again your way.

  5. Wow! This was also one of the recipes I couldn’t pass up on copying down (among many MANY others) as I was flipping through The Perfect Finish cookbook. Your crinkles look exactly the same as the ones in the cookbook. Bravo, Edd! Now I’m really tempted to make some myself…

  6. I meant to say the other day that I liked these, they look a lot of fun.

  7. Love the cracking and the colour contrast – yum!

  8. I haven’t made your recipe yet, but when I’ve tried crinkle/crackle top cookies 2x before, they don’t crackle… the icing sugar melts and kind of makes a glaze. (But they still taste super!) Any idea what am I doing wrong? Yours are sooo beautiful!

  9. Love the recipe. Truly inspired me. I baked my crinkles this morning they crackled perfectly. Thanks for sharing lovely pictures of your impressive crinkles and also the tip about using the ice cream scoop came really handy.

  10. I love it and I am gonna try them out!
    Thanx for this post!

Leave a Reply

