Update

Since the show finished I have been so busy, my feet have barely touched the ground, it has been such an exciting and fun time. I spent all wednesday the day after the final ensconced at the BBC doing about 20 interviews which was weird and amazing at the same time, especially doing BBC Breakfast. Want to know something secret about Breakfast? The “Green Room” is actually red (yeah that was a lame secret)

I spent the week in London and got to go to Claire Clark’s patisserie at Harvey Nichols which was a great way of celebrating my win (actually visited the day of the final) where I bumped into and met the lovely Susan aka @LondonFoodFinds but even better I met Claire herself and she is wonderful very kind and encouraging, so nice to have such a high profile pastry chef back on these shores. The food at the afternoon tea was amazing, so much variety and everything was so much fun. I would find it really hard to choose a favourite but for me there were a few standouts. The rose and raspberry eclair was perfect, the crystalised rose petal made it for me. I adored the jaffa cake macaron because it tasted amazing and it was fun totally taking me back to childhood, which is the same reason I loved the battenburg, totally retro.

Towards the end of the week Ruth arrived and we spent a couple of relaxed days together. We attended a cool jam making session with Stoves and The Womens Institute. I have rarely made jam so it was great to be taught by a Womens Institute judge. The session did me make me a little envious of the great ovens that the sponsor Stoves make, would love a massive range oven, although I guesss I need my own kitchen first! If you are into making jam then you might be interested in entering some of your creations in the Womens Institute Real Jam Festival.

At the end of the week a bunch of us from the show, those of us that could make it, went for a wonderful  reunion meal at Wallace & Co. although I think I may have had a little bit too much to drink! It was great to see everyone again, its a shame we dont all live closer, it really is a great group of guys.

To round of a wonderful week we decided to do one of the Chocolate Ecstasy Tours with the lovely Jennifer. On a drizzly london afternoon I can think of nothing better than tasting our way around chocolate shops. We visted a number of different shops tasting as we went and it was a lot of fun and very tasty. For me the best bits were meeting Claire Clark again at Harvey Nichols (picture at the top) and when we got invited into the kitchens of Ottolenghi, one of my favourite places to get some cake. They seemed like a great group of people and I would love to spend some time in their kitchens.

So even though I was busy trying to keep with what has happened since the show I managed to fir in some fun too. As for the future I think its going to be an exciting time. I have just confirmed dates for when im going to Le Manoir to spend a week in their pastry kitchen, which I am unbelievably excited about. I am talking to a number of people about jobs and I cant wait to see where I end up. Some of the work I have been offered wont start until next year so its possible I may try and get some experience in a variety of kitchens to get a mix of styles under my belt, so if you know anywhere that might be cool with me coming and spending some time let me know.

9 responses to “Update

  1. Fantastic & super busy week you’ve had! I hope the time in Le Manior goes well.

  2. Wow! What a busy time your having. It’s so great that you are able to take advantage of all these opportunities. Long may it continue, until you choose the perfect place to settle.

  3. I can’t wait for your blogs about working at Le Manoir, what a great place to start off your new career. We just watched Julie & Julia and she kinda reminded us of you. Get writing that book!

  4. Game on, Edd! Sounds as though quite a few wishes are coming true for you at present. A bit different to the bank, eh? The trip to Le Manoir sounds amazing: it’s great to think that all the things that have happened to you since winning the show are directly as a result of your talent and skill, and experiencing how they do things at Le Manoir will only help you to develop further. Keep us informed. That is, if you have time in between signing autographs and kissing babies… Good times.

  5. What an amazing week you’ve had. Good Luck at le manoir, can’t wait to hear about that. Also Best Wishes for, what I’m sure will be, a very interesting and exciting career ahead.

  6. such a wonderful exciting time ahead of you 🙂

    I am sure all your dreams will come true now, and a lot of things that you would not have dreamed existed as well.

  7. Glad it’s all working out for you. The London week sounded fun and I’m especially envious of the Chocolate Tour. Am sure you’ll get plenty of opportunities to try some interesting kitchens.

  8. Eeee, so happy for you Edd! When you won the bake off i genuinely leapt out of my seat in celebration! As for that afternoon tea that you photographed, how did you manage to put a fork into those works of art?! i suppose because of how good they promised to taste…
    So glad that things are going well for you, and all the best for the future 🙂

  9. Lucky you! I’m a huge fan of Claire Clark. So great to hear you’re getting lots of offers to spend time in various kitchens too – truly a baker’s dream come true!

Leave a Reply

