2010 Roundup

Its fair to say 2010 has been one amazing year. I started off working as a litigation clerk for a bank, a job I really didnt enjoy, and ended up the year by basically becoming self employed about to embark on some massive changes. You could say that my life has turned upside down. I, slightly reluctantly, entered The Great British Bake Off and beyond all my expectations I only went and won! Along the way there was of course a lot of baking, many cookbooks bought (a practice I have had to stop, cant justify cookbooks with no income!) and a holiday to Paris. Since ive been too busy to blog the way I would like I thought I would do a roundup of my favourite recipes, cookbooks etc of the year.

Favourite Cookbooks

Bourke Street Bakery – I just love the feel of this book, it makes me think i’m right there in the Sydney bakery, which itself appears warm, friendly and just the sort of place I would adore in my neighbourhood (or even run one day). The recipes in the book have a wonderful rustic charm, my favourite so far is ginger brulee tarts

Baked Explorations – another wonderful book from the guys of Baked in Red Hook, Brooklyn NYC, my favourite bakery in the city. Mirroring the bakery the book has playful takes on American classics including the indulgent and addictive Salted Caramel Brownies, which I made but totally forgot to blog!


Indulge – This is the first cookbook from Claire Clark, the former pastry chef of The French Laundry. The recipes range from the simple to the more advanced, whilst everything looks stunning. Its definitely a book to inspire. I had the pleasure of meeting Claire a few times this year and let me tell you, she, like her book is very inspiring and encouraging and I cant wait to see what she does next.

There are some great books due out next year, including a couple from Dan Lepard, The Nordic Bakery, Sugar Baby by Gesine Bullock, Melt and hopefully the Momofuku Milk Bar cookbook will also be published recipe

Recipes – here are a few of my favourite recipes of the year, because this year has been manic, I havent blogged the way I would have liked so there is a few blank spaces, but I promise you lots of recipes next year.

January – Double Crust Apple Pie

FebruaryRose Macarons

March – tie between Coconut Cake + Ginger Brulee Tarts

April – a glut of Sable’s

May – appears I didnt bake anything this month! more likely I was a little busy with holidays and the show

June – oops, I really was bad around this time wasnt I, believe me I have never been as busy as I was in June.

JulyNew York Times Chocolate Chip Cookie

AugustGevulde Speculaas

SeptemberChocolate Peanut Crinkles

October – A very busy month appears I only baked Whoopie Pies

NovemberPumpkin Pie

December – stupidly busy again, only home 1 week so no time to blog properly. I did make these amazing salted caramel brownies but forgot about blogging them!

My Year


If you read the blog regularly you know I have had an amazing and exciting year. I had another short holiday in Paris, eating my way around the cities patisseries even getting a behind the scenes tour at Gerard Mulot, spent a couple of months filming The Great British Bake Off, quit my job and since then have been on a bit of a rollercoaster. I spent an amazing week at Raymond Blanc’s restaurant Le Manoir, an experience that will stay with me forever. I filmed a week of episodes for Market Kitchen and appeared at BBC Good Food Live. I feel so so lucky for the things I have experienced over the year and lets just say that next year is looking to be just as exciting, if not more so.

20 responses to “2010 Roundup

  1. Way to go, lovely!!!

  2. Great, more cookbooks to consider! And based on the success of your Sky High recommendation, I can imagine these being on my wishlist some time soon!

    Looking forward to seeing what you do next!

  3. I will check out those books, the Sydney one looks lovely.
    Good luck with all your endeavours in 2011!

  4. No doubt our baking paths will cross again in 2011 🙂

    Come & visit me in Borough Market when you’re settled into London. Looking forward to reading about future endeavours & a happy new and further successful year!

  5. It looks like it has been a good year. You were great to watch on the Bake Off – I wish I could bake bread that was half as delicious-looking as your loaves there. The very best of luck in 2011 – I hope to see your baking often, and maybe come on a macaron course! Most of my family don’t even know what macarons are, so making them would be a definite win.

  6. Sounds like a great year! Here’s to 2011! Cheers! 🙂

  7. Edd, I can hardly wait to see what 2011 brings you. I have followed your journey over the past year and am so thrilled for your successes. Best wishes for a FAB 2011!!!

  8. Your enjoyment and passion for baking leaps off the page (and the screen); my whole family have followed your progress since you won the GBBO (which we were glued to). Best of luck in 2011.

  9. Here’s to a very happy and prosperous 2011 to you Edd :0) and thank you for sharing your wonderful recipes with us, can’t wait to try them out! Happy baking!

  10. Ed, great blog so keep up the good work. I particularly love the photography – did you take the photos yourself?
    Good luck for the coming year, it sounds like it may be another busy one for you!

    • Thanks Michael, yes the photos are pretty much all me, unless you see me in the pictures which normally means my brother took those

  11. wow what a fantastic year you’ve had! Congratulations and good luck for 2011. I love reading your blog and look forward to finding out what’s to come! Jo

  12. Well done and good luck for 2011. You deserve it as you have taken risks and put loads of energy in. Will watch you with interest and hopefully get to come on one of your macaron courses. I have yet to master the little monkeys!

  13. What an exciting year! ditching your boring job to leap into a slightly more financially scary but far more interesting and exciting career. So glad I got to meet you, will send you a photo when I get to Bourke St Bakery 😉 x

  14. Quite a top year for you I think! I hope 2011 is just as fabulous for you.

  15. 2010 was an amazing year for you. Congratulations once again. Hope 2011 brings you success in your self-employment venture.

  16. Hi Ed

    Have been reading your papges with huge interest, and a big well done for winning!

    I am going to the audition next week where I have to take something savory and something sweet – sweet is not a problem but the savory is.

    I have a 3 hour journey to get to london so it has to be something that travells well – any ideas?

    Best wishes D x

Leave a Reply

