Mum’s Apple Crumble

I know Mothers Day was last week but I was working all day in the kitchen making a few hundred macarons so couldnt spend it with my own lovely mother. It did however get me thinking about family recipes and what they mean to me. I dont have that many to choose from but those that I do have are precious and mean an awful lot to me. If you follow me on twitter then you will know that I have a cookbook coming out later in the year, which is why I have been a bad blogger recently, and of course it will include a few of those cherished recipes. We recently started the photoshoots for the book and this week we shot a recipe of my Nannas, and it made me want to get back in the kitchen and bake something that my mum used to make us almost every week, a simple apple crumble. There isnt a written recipe its basically just a ratio. 2 parts flour to 1 part sugar and 1 part butter, very simple, very classic and totally delicious. When I was younger I always craved apple purely on its own but over the years we had many variations from apple and raspberry to gooseberry and rhubarb, all delicious but its the simple apple crumble that I crave the most.

Mum’s Apple Crumble

130g plain flour

65g caster sugar

65g butter

25g oats

650g bramley apples

2 tsp lemon juice

1 tsp ground cinnamon

150g caster sugar

For the crumble topping add the flour, sugar and butter into a medium bowl and rub together using your fingertips until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs. Stir in the oats and cover the bowl with clingfilm and refrigerate until needed.

Preheat the oven 200C/390C. Peel, core and roughly dice the apples and toss together in a medium bowl with the lemon juice, cinnamon and caster sugar.

Add the apple mixture to a 1.1-litre ovenproof dish and sprinkle the crumble topping evenly over the apples. Bake in the preheated for 45 minutes until the apple filling is bubbling and the topping is lightly golden.

Allow to cool slightly before serving with cream or a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

I would also like to quickly say im supporting a new charity campaign launched by Belling supporting FoodCycle, a charity that redirects edible surplus food thrown away by food retailers, to create nutritious meals for people affected by food poverty. Belling are crowd sourcing 140 character recipes on twitter and the best ones will be chosen to be published in Tweet Pie, the worlds shortest recipe book, the proceeds of which will go towards FoodCycle’s work. Not only could your recipe appear in the cokbook but you could also win one of ten Baby Belling Black cookers.If I was to convert my recipe for twitter this is what it would look like:

650gApples/2tspLemon/1tspCinnamon/150gSugar Add to dish 130gFlour/65gSugar/65gButter/25gOats rub together, add on top apples bke@200C 45mins

To enter the competition tweet your recipe using the hashtag #tweetpie take a look here for more info and tips http://www.belling.co.uk/twecipe

3 responses to “Mum’s Apple Crumble

  1. Apple crumble was my all time favourite pudding as a child- I remember my Mum making, just as the Sunday roast was finishing cooking, and we’d all tucking in with lashings of cream or ice cream (or often both!)- lush!

    Kate

  2. That looks sooo good! Its one of my favorite desserts!

  3. I guess I missed the memo.Congrats on the book!

    I really like crumbles because they’re like pie with a super crispy topping. And, yeah, they’re easier but taste just as good.

Leave a Reply

