Daily Archives: February 15, 2010

Momofuku Pork Buns

It has been almost a year since I was in New York but over this past week I recreated one of the meals whilst I was there, from Momofuku Ssam Bar in the East Village one of David Chang’s restaurant’s. My brother bought me the Momofuku cookbook for Christmas but these posts are the first things ive actually made from it. Most of the recipes are relatively long with multiple steps but the 3 recipes im going to share are not difficult but do have a fair few steps. It may have been a year since I ate these dishes but the taste of my attempts took me straight back to that week and that restaurant, I actually thought the taste was pretty spot on. To start off I tackled one of the most popular dishes on the menu and my favorite of the meal, pork buns. The recipe is simple but making the buns takes considerable time and because of this Chang says if you can buy ready made buns you should with no pangs of guilt. I decided to plow ahead and make the buns and they were pillowy soft, light and easy to make but do take quite a few hours to make. Continue reading