Daily Archives: February 24, 2010

S’more Marshmallows

When an idea or recipe jumps into my head it will eventually get made, its just  that sometimes it gets tucked to the back of mind and can stay there for years before I finally get around to it (see my next post). Todays post was not one of those times. The idea for these popped into head in the morning and by the afternoon I was in the kitchen. I love s’mores but only had a “real” one in the last six months. When I was younger I was a scout and it wasnt really a great fit, one of the few things I did enjoy was the toasted marshmallows between digestives served around the campfire and whilst delicious its not the real thing. S’mores supposedly originated with the Girl Scout’s in the US going back to at least the 1920’s and the traditional standard is the requisite toasted marshmallow with chocolate between two graham crackers. Family friends visited recently from the US and decided to bring over the ingredients for the real thing and apart from the chocolate which tasted like, well, vomit (sorry but Hershey’s really is disgusting) I loved the taste of the cracker, which have more flavour than British digestives. But enough with the backstory and waffling, let me get to the point. I had the idea to combine the three elements of the s’more into one little treat. I made very soft marshallow’s dipped them in chocolate and rolled them in homemade graham cracker crumbs. These were so good I could easily of eaten more of these then would have been advisable. These are best the day they are made because after a day the cracker looses some of its crunch. Continue reading