liquorice Ice Cream

In the post about Nanaimo Bars I mentioned that I had tried something called Tiger Ice Cream, which is basically just liquorice and orange ice cream swirled together. I absolutely loved it, ever since I’ve been hoping i come across an ice cream shop over hear that makes it, but i’ve never seen it outside Canada. I don’t have two ice cream makers so can’t see how I would be able to make it so I decided to just make the liquorice ice cream. None of my books had a recipe, which I guess isn’t surprising as it’s not exactly the most popular flavour, so I turned to Twitter for suggestions. I was given a couple of suggestions but someone was even kinder to send me Claudia Flemings recipe from her book “The Last Course” a book I have wanted for a long time but which is unfortunately out of print and now ridiculously expensive to buy, so unless anyone wants to give me a copy I won’t be getting it anytime soon. Now, I will admit that at one stage this ice cream looked disgusting, the custard was the most unattractive green colour. I’m sure this is down the the brand of liquorice I used, so I decided I had to add a little colouring to darken it and in the end it looked okay but next time I’ll choose a different brand, because I hate colouring ice cream.

Liquorice Ice Cream – Claudia Fleming, The Last Course

3 Cups (720ml) whole milk

1 cup (240ml) whipping cream (35% fat)

4oz (113g) panda brand chewy liquorice, cut into small pieces (I couldn’t get)

12 egg yolks (I reduced to 9)

1/2 cup (100g) sugar

1/8 tsp salt

1. Place the milk and cream in a pan, add the liquorice and bring to a simmer, turn the heat down to very low and slowly melt the liquorice for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. If it isn’t easily melting mash it against the side of the pan, I actually used an immersion blender to get the job finished.

2. Whisk the egg yolks and sugar together. Remove the liquorice mixture from the heat, pour some over the eggs whisking as you do so. Scrape the eggs back into the pan and place back over low heat. Cook until the custard, stirring constantly with a wooden spoon until the mixture thickens, about 5 minutes.

3. Strain the custard and stir in the salt. Refrigerate thoroughly, about four hours, before churning according to your ice cream makers instructions.

18 responses to “liquorice Ice Cream

  1. You can usually get Panda liquorice at health food shops, holland and barratt usually sell it.

  2. Congrats on your win! Everything you made was truely amazing! Now you’ve got me wanting to apply!

  3. Massive congratulations on your win and hope you found success as a pastry chef! x

  4. Congratulations! – well deserved.

  5. Marie-Claire Micuta

    If you’re looking for a liquorice ice-cream, try Yummy Yorkshire’s – it’s amazing. They use Pontefract Cakes and it won Supreme Product of the Year at last year’s Deliciously Yorkshire awards. They are near Denby Dale, West Yorks. Their website is http://www.yorkshiremilk.co.uk/ice_cream.php

  6. Edd, you were amazing! I just watched it, and now when I go to bed, Perce will shout at me for staying up so late.

    Brilliant, brilliant stuff!

  7. Just found your blog by googling. Congratulations on your win. I’ve really enjoyed watching the programmes. Just seen you on Breakfast too.

  8. Hi Edd, really well done on the result last night.

    I’ve had Liquorice Ice Cream with a desert of orange 3 ways prepared at Tessa Bramleys Old Vicarage restaurant. It was a great combination.

    So what are you planning next? If you would be interested in doing some cooking demos it would be great to hear from you. Check me out on facebook Hartingtons.

  9. So enjoyed the programme. Many, many congratulations on your win. And all the very best of luck for your exciting future.

  10. Licorice ice cream sounds like music to my ears… green or otherwise 🙂 I watched the Great British Bake Off for the first time last night (sorry I don’t watch a lot of tv!) and you won the finaL! I was SOOOO excited for you. And you’ve inspired me to roll mini cakes in crushed nuts 😀

  11. Congratulations on your well-deserved win! Your chocolate and ginger tarts looked out of this world.

  12. Hi Edd,
    congratulations- I never watch this kind of show but got sucked in via iplayer and your bread baking (have you got jefrey hamelman’s ‘bread’- recommend it). Anyway, there is a liquorice ice cream recipe in Giorgio Locatelli’s ‘Made in Italy’ that calls for powdered liquorice. I haven’t got round to trying it yet but it doesn’t look at all green… I found whole liquorice roots at spice shop, maybe the coffee grinder is up to the task, we’ll see…
    nice blog, too!

  13. Liquorice Ice Cream is an all-time fave of the Danes. So if you want to try it in all sort of various guises come to Copenhagen! Not sure about it myself but my son absolutely loves it…
    Congratulations on the win!

  14. Edd, is there a specific reason you used Panda Liquorice? I am a big fan of liquorice and I don’t really like Panda Liquorice. Although it’s more the texture than the taste so seeing that the liquorice gets melted anyway…

    By the way, have you noticed that Panda liquorice looks like bunnies when you turn them upside down? 😉

  15. Congratulations on your win. I just thought I’d let you know that we were up in cumbria a couple of weeks back and there is a teashop/icecream shop on the front at Seascales – sorry cant remember the name but you cant miss it, it has a big cow outside on the pavement when they are open – I had heard they served licorice icecream and I wasnt disappointed – It was amazing!

  16. Lovely pictures, I’m just wondering if one could make liquorice bread in some way…. congratulations by the way!

Leave a comment